Authors > Gregory Mcdonald

"The magic I attempt is to point the finger, as concisely as possible set the scene, then pull back my hand, disappear as the author, leave the reader alone with the characters. Of course the result of this is, not typical of authors, that tens of millions more people know the names of my characters than know my name, which I don't mind a bit." -- Gregory McDonald

Twice the winner of the Edgar Allen Poe Award and described by critics as the inventor of the sunlight mystery and the Master of the Pointed Story, Gregory McDonald has published twenty-six books, including the Fletch books. From 1966 to 1973 he worked for the Boston Globe, where he was the first member of the major media to write against the Vietnam War.

Featured Titles:


Fletch, investigative reporter extraordinaire, can't be bothered with deadlines or expense-account budgets when it comes to getting his story. Working undercover at the beach to dig up a drug-trafficking scheme for his next blockbuster piece, Fletch is invited into a much deeper narrative.

Year: 1974     Genre: Comic MysteryDrug DealingInvestigative Reporter

Confess, Fletch

Fletch, now newly engaged and happily living out his days in Italy, finds himself embroiled in yet another scandal. His soon-to-be father-in-law has been kidnapped and is now presumed dead, and the priceless collection of rare art that belongs to his fiancée's family has been stolen

Year: 1976     Genre: Comic MysteryPainting

Fletch's Fortune

Fletch, as unbridled as ever and still living the good life in Italy on his ill-gotten fortune, gets a surprising visit from two surly FBI agents. The pair offers him a deal: either he attend the American Journalism Alliance convention and work as an undercover spy for them, or be shipped back to headquarters and face jail time for tax evasion.

Year: 1978     Genre: Comic MysteryFBIInvestigative Reporter

Feb 15, 1937 -- Sep 07, 2008
Author, Journalist

Series & Characters

Primary Genres & Topics

External Links

See Also: Authors



Got ItWant ItRead ItYearTitle

-- -- --1973Souvenirs of a Blown World Non-Fiction
-- -- --1974Fletch Fletch
-- -- --1976Confess, Fletch Fletch, Flynn
-- -- --1977Flynn Flynn
-- -- --1978Fletch's Fortune Fletch
-- -- --1981Fletch and the Widow Bradley Fletch
-- -- --1981The Buck Passes Flynn Flynn
-- -- --1982Fletch's Moxie Fletch
-- -- --1983Fletch and the Man Who Fletch
-- -- --1984Carioca Fletch Fletch
-- -- --1984Flynn's In Flynn
-- -- --1985Fletch Won Fletch
-- -- --1985Snatch 
-- -- --1986Fletch, Too Fletch
-- -- --1993Son of Fletch Fletch
-- -- --1994Fletch Reflected Fletch
-- -- --2003Flynn's World Flynn