Authors > Isaac Asimov

Isaac Asimov is best known for his two main series: the Robot series and the Foundation series and his short story Nightfall. During the 1940s and 1950s, many of his stories were published in pulp magazines including Amazing Stories and Astounding Science Fiction.

Asimov recieved his PhD in 1948, from Columbia University and was a professor of biochemistry for over 10 years. His writing career can be neatly broken into three periods. First, he wrote a number of short stories and short novels from 1940, to 1958, including his Nightfall and the main works from his Robot and Foundation series.

Then, from 1958 to 1980, he stopped writing fiction and instead focused on non-fiction, primarily science related but including a wide range of other topics.

In 1980, he returned to fiction and to his two series and developed a number of full length novels which expanded uponhis famous story lines.

Recognized as one of the founding fathers of Science Fiction, his stories continue to be fan favorites.

Featured Titles:


Isaac Asimov's short story "Nightfall" first appeared in 1941. It has since become recognized as a classic, its author a legend. But the short story isn't the whole story. Now, Dr. Asimov has teamed with multiple Hugo and Nebula Award winner Robert Silverberg to explore and expand one of the most awe-inspiring concepts in the history of science fiction.

Year: 1941
Genre: Science Fiction


I, Robot

This classic science fiction masterwork by Isaac Asimov weaves stories about robots, humanity, and the deep questions of existence into a novel of shocking intelligence and heart.

Year: 1950
Genre: FebruaryScience Fiction



For twelve thousand years the Galactic Empire has ruled supreme. Now it is dying. Only Hari Seldon, creator of the revolutionary science of psychohistory, can see into the future--a dark age of ignorance, barbarism, and warfare that will last thirty thousand years. To preserve knowledge and save humanity, Seldon gathers the best minds in the Empire--both scientists and scholars--and brings them to a bleak planet at the edge of the galaxy to serve as a beacon of hope for future generations.

Year: 1951
Genre: Science Fiction


The End of Eternity

Andrew Harlan is an Eternal, a member of the elite of the future. One of the few who live in Eternity, a location outside of place and time, Harlan's job is to create carefully controlled and enacted Reality Changes. These Changes are small, exactingly calculated shifts in the course of history made for the benefit of humankind. Though each Change has been made for the greater good, there are always costs.

Year: 1955
Genre: Science Fiction


Jan 02, 1920 -- Apr 06, 1992
Author, Professor of Biochemistry

Book Series

Primary Genres

See Also

Stand Alone Novels

My Library
Own Read Rating WishYear TitleGenres & Tags

-- -- -- --1941NightfallScience Fiction, Solar Eclipse
-- -- -- --1955The End of EternityScience Fiction


SERIES: Foundation

My Library
Own Read Rating WishYear # Title Genres & Tags

-- -- -- --19880Prelude to FoundationScience Fiction
-- -- -- --19930Forward the FoundationScience Fiction
-- -- -- --19511FoundationScience Fiction
-- -- -- --19522Foundation and EmpireScience Fiction
-- -- -- --19533Second FoundationScience Fiction
-- -- -- --19824Foundation's EdgeScience Fiction


SERIES: Robot Series

My Library
Own Read Rating WishYear # Title Genres & Tags

-- -- -- --19501I, RobotFebruaryScience Fiction
-- -- -- --19542Caves of SteelScience Fiction
-- -- -- --19573The Naked SunScience Fiction
-- -- -- --19834The Robots of DawnScience Fiction