Authors > Ursula K. Le Guin

Ursula K. Le Guin is one of the most celebrated writers of her generation, recipient of multiple Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and World Fantasy Awards. In 2014, she was awarded the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.

Ursula K. Le Guin is one of the United States’ most honored and respected authors, in or out of the fields of science fiction and fantasy in which she often wrote. Her oeuvre includes 21 novels and dozens of volumes of short stories, children’s books, poetry, essays and translation.

Featured Titles:

A Wizard of Earthsea

Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death's threshold to restore the balance.

Year: 1968     Genre: Fantasy

The Left Hand of Darkness

A lone human ambassador is sent to the icebound planet of Winter, a world without sexual prejudice, where the inhabitants' gender is fluid. His goal is to facilitate Winter's inclusion in a growing intergalactic civilization. But to do so he must bridge the gulf between his own views and those of the strange, intriguing culture he encounters...

Year: 1969     Genre: Science FictionSoft SF

The Dispossessed

A bleak moon settled by utopian anarchists, Anarres has long been isolated from other worlds, including its mother planet, Urras--a civilization of warring nations, great poverty, and immense wealth. Now Shevek, a brilliant physicist, is determined to reunite the two planets, which have been divided by centuries of distrust. He will seek answers, question the unquestionable, and attempt to tear down the walls of hatred that have kept them apart.

Year: 1974     Genre: Utopian

Worlds of Exile and Illusion

Worlds of Exile and Illusion contains three novels in the Hainish Series from Ursula K. Le Guin, one of the greatest science fiction writers and many times the winner of the Hugo and Nebula Awards.Her career as a novelist was launched by the three novels contained here. These books, Rocannon's World, Planet of Exile, and City of Illusions, are set in the same universe as Le Guin's groundbreaking classic, The Left hand of Darkness.

Year: 1996     Genre: Science Fiction

The Books of Earthsea

With a new introduction by Le Guin herself, this essential edition will also include fifty illustrations by renowned artist Charles Vess, specially commissioned and selected by Le Guin, to bring her refined vision of Earthsea and its people to life in a totally new way.

Year: 2018     Genre: Fantasy

Oct 21, 1929 -- Jan 22, 2018
American Novelist

Photo by Jack Liu

My Library


Series & Characters

Primary Genres & Topics

External Links

See Also: Authors



Want ItGot ItRead ItYearTitle

1966Rocannon's WorldScience Fiction, Hainish Series
1968A Wizard of EarthseaFantasy, Earthsea Cycle
1969The Left Hand of DarknessScience Fiction, Soft SF
1971The Lathe of HeavenScience Fiction
1971The Tombs of AtuanFantasy, Earthsea Cycle
1972The Farthest ShoreFantasy, Earthsea Cycle
1972The Word for World Is ForestScience Fiction, Hainish Series
1974The DispossessedUtopian
1985Always Coming HomeFantasy
1990TehanuFantasy, Earthsea Cycle
1996Worlds of Exile and Illusion
Three Complete Novels of the Hainish Series
Science Fiction, Hainish Series
1998Steering the Craft
A Twenty-First-Century Guide to Sailing the Sea of Story
on Writing, Non-Fiction
2001The Other WindFantasy, Earthsea Cycle
2008LaviniaHistorical, Italy
2015Late in the Day: Poems 2010-2014Poetry
2017The Unreal and the RealFantasy, Short Stories
2018The Books of Earthsea
The Complete Illustrated Edition
Fantasy, Earthsea Cycle




Vintage Library at is an online bookstore with a mission to financially support local, independent bookstores.