Speculative Fiction > Near Future

    Artemis by Andy Weir

Jasmine Bashara never signed up to be a hero. She just wanted to get rich. Not crazy, eccentric-billionaire rich, like many of the visitors to her hometown of Artemis, humanity's first and only lunar colony. Just rich enough to move out of her coffin-sized apartment and eat something better than flavored algae. Rich enough to pay off a debt she's owed for a long time.

Year: 2017
Genre: Action & Adventure SFConspiracyNear Future

    Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction. In this groundbreaking novel, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Year: 2004
Genre: ActionHistoricalNear FuturePost ApocalypseSpeculative Fiction

    Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said by Philip K. Dick

Jason Taverner--world-famous talk show host and man-about-town--wakes up one day to find that no one knows who he is--including the vast databases of the totalitarian government. And in a society where lack of identification is a crime, Taverner has no choice but to go on the run with a host of shady characters, including crooked cops and dealers of alien drugs. But do they know more than they are letting on? And just how can a person's identity be erased overnight?

Year: 1974
Genre: Chase StoryNear FutureScience Fiction

    Gnomon by Nick Harkaway

In the world of Gnomon, citizens are constantly observed and democracy has reached a pinnacle of 'transparency.' Every action is seen, every word is recorded, and the System has access to its citizens' thoughts and memories--all in the name of providing the safest society in history. When suspected dissident Diana Hunter dies in government custody, it marks the first time a citizen has been killed during an interrogation. The System doesn't make mistakes...

Year: 2017
Genre: DetectiveDystopianNear FutureSpeculative Fiction

    Gun, with Occasional Music by Jonathan Lethem

Gumshoe Conrad Metcalf has problems--there's a rabbit in his waiting room and a trigger-happy kangaroo on his tail. Near-future Oakland is a brave new world where evolved animals are members of society, the police monitor citizens by their karma levels, and mind-numbing drugs such as Forgettol and Acceptol are all the rage. Mixing elements of sci-fi, noir, and mystery, this clever first novel from the author of Motherless Brooklyn is a wry, funny, and satiric look at all that the future may hold.

Year: 1994
Genre: Hardboiled DetectiveNear FutureSatireSpeculative Fiction

 

My Library
 
Own Read Rating WishYearTitleAuthorSeriesGenres & Tags

-- -- -- --2017 Artemis Andy Weir Action & Adventure SFConspiracyNear Future
-- -- -- --2004 Cloud Atlas David Mitchell ActionHistoricalNear FuturePost ApocalypseSpeculative Fiction
-- -- -- --1974 Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said Philip K. Dick Chase StoryNear FutureScience Fiction
-- -- -- --2017 Gnomon Nick Harkaway DetectiveDystopianNear FutureSpeculative Fiction
-- -- -- --1994 Gun, with Occasional Music Jonathan Lethem Hardboiled DetectiveNear FutureSatireSpeculative Fiction, Bay Area
-- -- -- --2007 Sixty Days and Counting Kim Stanley Robinson Science in the CapitalEco-DisasterHard SFNear FuturePolitical Thriller
-- -- -- --2017 walkaway Cory Doctorow Near FuturePost ApocalypseUtopian, Post-Scarcity