Sorry, The Vintage Library Attic is currently closed.

We will open the Attic several times a year, each time for a few weeks, so that we can better manage the shipping and inventory processes. In the meantime, our main website ordering is available year round, thanks to our partnership with

Attic > Volume 4: Wings in the Night

by Robert E. Howard

The fourth volume collects Robert E. Howard's fiction and prose published in Weird Tales from July 1932 to May 1933. These works represent literary stepping-stones to Howard's infamous Cthulhu mythos stories and his most famous character of all — Conan the Cimmerian — and ably demonstrate that each of Howard's stories improved and added to his formidable skills as a master of fantasy and adventure.

Wings in the Night includes "Phoenix on the Sword," the historically important first Conan story, establishing the very unique character of Conan, and sets in place the history and many of the attributes of the Hyborian Age, from which all the later stories would flow. Includes two more Conan stories: "The Scarlet Citadel" and "The Tower of the Elephant!"

    The complete table of contents:
  • Wings in the Night
  • Arkham
  • An Open Window
  • Worms of the Earth
  • The Phoenix on the Sword
  • Scarlet Citidel
  • Cairn on the Headland
  • Tower of the Elephant
  • Autumn
  • Moonlight on a Skull

Price: $34.95

2 Remaining In Stock. Order Soon!

Format: Hardback
222 Pages
First Published: 2005

Add to Shopping Cart
Sorry, we are temporarily closed.


All products are new condition unless noted otherwise.
Shipping is Only $9.45 PER ORDER for U.S. destinations.


Click here for more from Robert E. Howard


Related Categories


More from Robert E. Howard